Posted by: twolittlebumpkins | January 7, 2010

Product Review: Cusinart Convection Bread Machine

Mmmmmmmm…. it is really cold here and I am making bread for the first time!  I am a little nervous because I am using a new bread machine and a new bread mix.

I am using the Cusinart Convection Bread Machine and the Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread Mix.   And the verdict is… yum!  I used the gluten free setting and replaced the yeast that came with the Gluten-Free Pantry mix with Fleschman’s rapid rise yeast, added 2 tbl of flax meal for nutrition and I added 2 tsp of dough enhancer to the flour.  I followed the directions that came with the machine adding liquids first (all mixed together and warm), then adding flour (flax meal and dough enhancer mixed in) and then adding yeast on  top of the flour.  Worked wonderfully and had a great height and sponge to the bread!

The bread mix called for water or milk and I decided to go dairy free and use almond milk.  Oh does this bread look so good and look how big and tall the loaf is!  This mix will create a two pound loaf.  I used the white bread setting and medium crust.  I had to remove the bread about 5 minutes early because it smelled ready!  And I am glad I did… the crust was great!  I think next time I will use the light crust setting.  While the dough was mixing I did follow recommendations from other friends to use a spatula to help scrape the sides of the pan while the machine is mixing the dough.

Oh I cannot wait to see my two little bumpkins (teenagers) faces when they wake up… finally fresh fresh bread for their lunches…

Oh you have to cool the bread before slicing otherwise the bread will fall apart a bit.

The bread machine was awesome.  I literally unpacked the bread machine and washed the bread pan and paddle and literally started making bread!  The directions were easy to follow and the ingredients mixed well.  There is a neat feature on the bread machine to stop/pause and you can mix or add additional ingredients before the rising phase.  I really think I am going to enjoy this machine… so easy to use and versatile!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

